Logo - Criminal Defense Lawyer Colorado Springs
Free Consultations


Logo - Criminal Defense Lawyer Colorado Springs

If You're Convicted Of Felony DUI, You'll Serve Time

On Behalf of The Foley Law Firm | July 31, 2017 |

With the passage of HB-17-1288, everyone convicted of felony DUI in Colorado will now have to go to jail. Governor John Hickenlooper signed the bill on June 6, 2017, and the law goes into effect on August 9, 2017. From that date forward, anyone who is convicted of a fourth or subsequent DUI will have to serve between 90 to 180 days in county jail with no time off for good behavior.

Loophole closed for repeat offenders

In 2015, Colorado created the new offense of felony DUI. That law classified a person's fourth or subsequent conviction for DUI as a felony. But in writing the law, legislators inadvertently left out language that mandated jail time for those convicted of a fourth offense. That enabled about 8 percent of those convicted of felony DUI to avoid jail time.

After the passage of HB 17-1288, that loophole has now been closed. If you are convicted of felony DUI, you'll serve at least 90 days in jail and possibly more.

Penalties for felony DUI are harsh

With each passing decade, penalties upon conviction for impaired driving seem to grow harsher in every state. Here's what you are looking at if you are convicted of felony DUI in Colorado:

  • Ninety to 180 days of mandatory jail time
  • 120 days to two years of mandatory jail time if an alternative sentencing program exists in your county
  • Up to six years in prison
  • A fine of $2,000 to $500,000
  • Forty-eight to 120 hours of community service
  • Completion of a Level II alcohol and drugged driving safety program or treatment program

For the purposes of this law, these all count as convictions: DUI in Colorado or any other state, DWAI (driving while ability impaired), vehicular assault, and vehicular homicide.

Not every DUI arrest results in a conviction

A significant percentage of people who get arrested for DUI are not convicted. A single mistake made by a police officer during the stop, investigation, or testing procedure could result in a positive outcome. However, getting a DUI charge dismissed, reduced to a nonalcohol driving offense, or acquittal requires skilled and aggressive defense by an experienced attorney.

Whether you have been arrested for your first or fourth DUI, get legal help as soon as possible.

Get Legal Help Today

Call Us At 719-757-1182 For A Free Consultation.

Contact Form
Logo - Criminal Defense Lawyer Colorado Springs

222 East Costilla Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903

Criminal Defense & Injury Lawyers in Colorado SpringsColorado Springs Law Office Map
Phone: 719-757-1182
Fax: 719-757-1146

© 2022 The Foley Law Firm
All Rights Reserved

Disclaimer | Site Map | Privacy Policy 

National Association of Distinguished Counsel